We are Leaders Making the Climb...To the Top!

O’Keeffe School of Excellence will prepare our students for college, career and beyond by providing adaptive learning environments, which allow for multiple opportunities to develop individual needs, interests and strengths, enforcing high academic expectations for all students by building the capacity of our staff, providing opportunities for growth and celebrating successes, and developing restorative practices to ensure a positive a supportive environment through conflict resolution.

Together we will prepare our students to become global citizens through a technologically rich curriculum that provides outside experiences and ensures parent and community involvement that ultimately leads to student achievement. 

Pre K-8

O’Keeffe School of Excellence

6940 S. Merrill Ave.
Chicago, IL 60649
773-535-0600

Enrollment: 620
A CPS Neighborhood School managed by the AUSL Network

Principal's Message

Cap_Pic.jpg

Welcome to O'Keeffe School of Excellence!

​I believe that a positive culture and climate has to be the foundation that a school is built on.  Effective structures create trusting relationships among students, staff and the community.  With these structures, the focus can be placed on increasing teacher capacity in order to deliver rigorous and engaging instruction to our students that will prepare them for high school, college, careers and their community.  

At O’Keeffe School of Excellence, we are Making the CLIMB by instituting a curriculum study, implementing data drive instruction, improving our overall attendance and increasing parent and community engagement.  Together the students, staff and community of O’Keeffe will Make the CLIMB…to the TOP!  Go Cougars!

Melissa Capinegro

Principal

Performance

Our Growth In
Achievement

Steady, positive improvements in academic achievement, student engagement, and parent satisfaction are hallmarks of all AUSL-managed CPS schools. You will find reports for O’Keeffe School of Excellence to the right.

Our History

Building on Our History to
Create a Culture of Excellence

isabelle-okeeffe.jpg

O’Keeffe School of Excellence is named in honor of Isabelle C. O’Keeffe (1869 – 1922), an educator and the driving force behind the establishment of the kindergarten system in Chicago Public Schools. O’Keeffe served on the Board of Education from 1898 to 1904 and 1907 to 1910 and was on the board’s kindergarten committee. In 1898, the committee recommended that kindergartens to be established in the school system and O’Keeffe spoke throughout the city seeking approval of the plan, which voters approved that spring.

O’Keeffe School of Excellence opened in 1925 and originally contained 21 classrooms, a gymnasium, and an auditorium. An eight-room addition was added in 1936 to the north end of the building. 

In response to severe overcrowding at the school during the 1960s, six mobile classrooms were used before a 14 classroom “relocatable” annex building was built in 1971. The annex building is still in use today.

O’Keeffe was renovated in 2013, contains 43 classrooms, and serves 525 students.

AUSL

AUSL (Academy for Urban School Leadership) is a Chicago nonprofit school management organization that creates schools of excellence by developing highly effective teachers and transforming educational outcomes for students in the lowest performing schools.

Chicago Public Schools (CPS) turned over management of O’Keeffe School of Excellence to AUSL in 2013 as a turnaround school. Turning around a school is one approach that CPS uses to improve neighborhood schools that have been failing for many years. The transformation begins with the new leadership and teachers in the building to deliver effective instruction and the right climate and culture to the same neighborhood students.

AUSL is committed to to providing all AUSL students with a quality education to prepare them for college and career.

Staff List

Questions for Our Staff?

If you have any questions, the O’Keeffe School of Excellence staff will be happy to assist you.

Phone: 773-535-0600

Fax: 773-535-0611

Administration

Melissa Capinegro
Principal
773)535-0600
Email Me

Ms. Tabitha White
Assistant Principal
(773)535-0600
Email Me

Mr. Terence Knight
Dean of Students
(773)535-0600
Email Me

Mrs. Brigid Comer
Academic Director
(773)535-0600
Email Me

Ms. Melissa Warner
Academic Director
(773)535-0600
Email Me

Mrs. Kuempel
Case Manager: Room 103
773)535-0600
Email Me

Teachers

Mrs. Major
Pre-K Teacher: Room B123
Email Me

Ms. Stone
Pre-k teacher room B121

Ms. Sperindeo
Kindergarten Teacher: Room B125
Email Me

Ms. Guerrero
Kindergarten Teacher: Room B128

Ms. Brett
1st Grade Teacher: Teacher: Room B126
Email Me

Ms. Anderson
1st Grade Teacher: Room B224
Email Me

Ms. Frollo
2nd Grade Teacher: Room B228
Email Me

Ms. Wymer
1st/2nd Grade Teacher: Room B220
Email Me

Ms. M. Smith
2nd Grade Teacher: Room B226
Email Me

Ms. Kempe
Diverse Learning Teacher: Room B225
Email Me

Mrs. Fulson
3rd Grade Teacher: Room109
Email Me

Mrs. Graham
3rd Grade Teacher: Room 114
Email Me

Mrs. Mettenburg
3rd Grade Teacher: Room 111
Email Me

Ms. Donati
3rd Grade Teacher: Room 112
Email Me

Ms. White-Mitchell
Diverse Learning Teacher: Room 206
Email Me

Ms. Adams
Diverse Learning Teacher: Room 202
Email Me

Ms. Dokainos
Diverse Learning Teacher: Room 116
Email Me

Ms. Klotz
Diverse Learning Teacher: Room 116
Email Me

Mrs. Martinez
4th Grade Teacher: Room 215
Email Me

Ms. Burkhalter
4th Grade Math/Science Teacher: Room 216

Ms. Brown
5th Grade Literacy Teacher: Room 214
Email Me

Ms. W. Allen
5th Grade Math/Science Teacher: Room 213
Email Me

Ms. Berry
6th Grade Literacy Teacher: Room 207
Email Me

Ms. S. Smith
7th/8th Grade Math Teacher: Room 212
Email Me

Mr. Nathanson
7th/8th Grade Math Teacher: Room 211
Email Me

Ms. Morgan
7th/8th Grade Literacy Teacher: Room 209
Email Me

Mrs. Turner Burkes
Physical Education Instructor Gymnasium
Email Me

Ms. Calhoun
Music Instructor: Room118
Email Me

Mr. Allen
Music Instructor: Room 116
Email Me

Mrs. Thomas
4th Grade Teacher Room 218
Email Me

Support Staff

Ms. Durry
School Clerk
TCDURRY@CPS.EDU

Mrs. Ferguson
School Clerk Assistant
MLFERGUSON2@CPS.EDU

Mr. Mayers
Engineer
RLMAYERS@CPS.EDU

Ms. Brown
Cook
PBROWN2@CPS.EDU

Ms. Virgin
Lunchroom Manager
CVIRGIN@CPS.EDU

Ms. Ellison
Lunchroom Attendant
LDELLISON@CPS.EDU

Ms. Rogers
Teacher Assistant Pre-k
SLROGERS1@CPS.EDU

Ms. Gordon
Teacher Assistant
SAGORDON1@CPS.EDU

Ms. Williams
School Social Service Assistant
JMWILLIAMS79

Ms. Nelson
School Community Rep. 1
JNELSON5@CPS.EDU

Mr. Harris
Instructional Assistant 2
KHARRIS3@CPS.EDU

Mr. Short
Senior Security Officer
DSHORT@CPS.EDU

Mr. Allen
Senior Security Officer
MTALLEN6@CPS.EDU

Mr. Dailey
Security
RKDAILEY@CPS.EDU

Mr. Britten
Security
JLBRITTEN@CPS.EDU

Ms. Wesley
Security
DWESLEY-GRAHAM@CPS.EDU

Mr. Lee
SECA
CMLEE5@CPS.EDU

Mr. McPherson
SECA
AMCPHERSON@CPS.EDU

Mr. Roberts
SECA
LTROBERTS@CPS.EDU

Mr. Hardiman
SECA
WHARDIMAN@CPS.EDU

Jasmine Sola
City Year 6/7th grade math
JSOLA@CITYYEAR.ORG

Monet Marzette
City Year 5th grade math
MMARZETTE@CITYYEAR.ORG

Shannon O'donnell
City Year 6/7th grade ELA
S'ODONNELL@CITYYEAR.ORG

Marlissa Stalling
City Year 7/8th grade math
MSTALLING@CITYYEAR.ORG

Isaiah James
City Year 4th grade ELA
IJAMES@CITYYEAR.ORG

Israel Saucedo
City Year 4th grade math
ISAUCEDO@CITYYEAR.ORG

Samrean Ahmed
City Year 5th grade ELA
SAHMED@CITYYEAR.ORG

Shelby Khuth
City Year 7/8th grade ELA
SKHUTH@CITYYEAR.ORG

Alex Solliday
City Year Administrator
ASOLLIDAY@CITYYEAR.ORG